You are here: Home Education Fellowship Programs Medical Microbiology Fellowship
Document Actions

Medical Microbiology Fellowship

last modified 2013-09-19 10:39 — by Mark Malcolm
Contact Info

Coordinating Faculty: Kimberly E. Hanson, M.D., M.H.S.  Mark Fisher, Ph.D. 

Phone Number: (801) 583-2787 ext. 3592

Location: ARUP Laboratories

Supporting Staff: Karen J. Nelson  

About Medical Microbiology Fellowship

The Department of Pathology at the University of Utah School of Medicine offers two Medical Microbiology Fellowship training programs, an ACGME-accredited program and a CPEP-accredited program. During the one- to two-year program, the trainee gains hands-on experience in bacteriology, mycobacteriology, mycology, parasitology, virology, molecular microbiology, and serology through a series of structured bench rotations and independent research. The trainee also acquires administrative experience through participation in laboratory management and hospital committee meetings. Fellows are selected for their potential as future directors of academic diagnostic microbiology laboratories and leaders in public health.

Fellows completing the program are expected to apply for subspecialty certification in Medical Microbiology by examinations by the American Board of Pathology (ABP) or the American Board of Medical Microbiology (ABMM).


The University of Utah Health Sciences Center, ARUP Laboratories, Primary Children’s Medical Center, Salt Lake Veterans Administration, and the Utah Department of Health are all within walking distance of one another, creating a varied and exciting campus. Because of ARUP’s dual role as primary laboratory for the University of Utah Hospital and Clinics, and as a reference laboratory serving major community and academic universities, our mission statement focusing on service, teaching, and research guides all training efforts. For service, we provide quality diagnostic laboratory support, testing, and consultation in a cost-effective and timely manner for patient care purposes. Through local and national consultations and conferences, we strive to teach physicians, technologists and clients the appropriate use of diagnostic laboratory tests and resource utilization in the care of patients. For research, we develop novel testing methods for the rapid and accurate diagnosis of infectious diseases.


Applicants for the ACGME-accredited program must hold an M.D. degree (or foreign equivalent with ECFMG certification), be board eligible or board certified in anatomic and clinical pathology, or have completed one year of clinical infectious diseases training after board certification in internal medicine, pediatrics, or both. Applicants must be eligible for a Utah State medical license.

Applicants for the CPEP-accredited program must have an earned doctoral degree (Ph.D., M.D., D.O., Sc.D., Dr.P.H.) with graduate education in microbiology or immunology to qualify for admission to the training program.

J-1 Visa

The J-1 visa is the required visa for international trainees. This policy is governed by the University of Utah Office of Graduate Medical Education and applies to all Department of Pathology fellowships, regardless of program accreditation or associated degree type.


ACGME accredited – 2 positions (ABP)
CPEP accredited – 2 positions (ABMM)


Stipend is commensurate with year of postgraduate training.


Robyn Atkinson, Ph.D.
Adam Barker, Ph.D.
Anne J. Blaschke, M.D., Ph.D.
Marc R. Couturier, Ph.D.
Judy A. Daly, Ph.D.
Julio Delgado, M.D., M.S.
Mark A. Fisher, Ph.D., Fellowship Director, ABMM Program
Kimberly E. Hanson, M.D., M.H.S., Fellowship Director, ABP Program
Harry R. Hill, M.D.
David R. Hillyard, M.D.
Brian R. Jackson, M.D.
Brian A. Kendall, M.D.
Larry G. Reimer, M.D.
Wade Samowitz, M.D.
Robert Schlaberg, M.D.,, M.P.H.
Patricia R. Slev, Ph.D.
Ronald L. Weiss, M.D., M.B.A.

Current Fellows

Bijaya K. Dhakal, Ph.D.
Erin H. Graf, Ph.D.
Allen T. Griffin, M.D.
Jason A. Wicker, M.D., Ph.D.


Address inquires to:

Kimberly E. Hanson, M.D., M.H.S.
ARUP Laboratories
Dept. of Medical Directors
500 Chipeta Way - MS 115
Salt Lake City, UT 84108
kim.hanson ~at~
(801) 583-2787 ext. 3384

Mark A. Fisher, Ph.D.
ARUP Laboratories
Dept. of Medical Directors
500 Chipeta Way - MS 115
Salt Lake City, UT 84108
mark.fisher ~at~
(801) 583-2787 ext. 3438

Karen Nelson
Fellowship Coordinator
karen.nelson ~at~
(801) 583-2787 ext. 3592
fax (801) 584-5207

The University of Utah School of Medicine does not discriminate on the basis of gender, gender identity/expression, sexual orientation, race, age, religion, color, national origin, disability, genetic information, or veteran’s status.

Application (Word)
Application (PDF)

Related content